Don’t Be Fooled By Appearances

I get asked all the time how I can stand to poke my fingers multiple times a day. How I can handle inserting and having medical devices attached to my body all the time. People are amazed at how easy and effortless it all seems.

IMG_0056.PNG

Don’t be fooled by appearances.

I want to share the story of the absolute most difficult part of my diabetic life thus far, but to do so I need to share some backstory as well.

IMG_0059.PNG

December 2012. I had been living as a type 2 diabetic for five months. I finally made the decision to switch doctors, and started on insulin immediately under my new type 1 diagnosis.

IMG_0057.PNG

I can’t believe how sickly I looked, ugh. Anyway, adjusting was hard, but I was managing. However…

A few weeks after diagnosis, Allen and I were in a town about an hour away from home, and decided to go out to dinner. It was my first time going to a restaurant since I started on insulin. I was nervous of what people would think, since I had gotten the occasional skeptical look from people as I checked my blood sugar in public.

IMG_0062.PNG

The meal arrived, and I checked my sugar at the table. Immediately, I felt the eyes of nearby patrons on me. The restaurant was fairly dark and secluded, but I still felt uneasy. I decided to excuse to the bathroom to administer my insulin injection.

When I walked into the bathroom of the restaurant, the stalls were all full, and the sinks were surrounded by four or five ladies waiting in line. Awkwardly, I squeezed my way to the sink, not wanting to wait in line for a stall. After all, it was just going to take me a moment. I prepped my equipment and prepared to inject myself when a woman near me noticed what I was doing and shouted “oh my God, a needle!” I said “Yes, I have diabetes and have to give myself insulin to eat.” She scoffed at me and muttered something about how disgusting it was that I was giving myself an injection near her. I was too stunned to say anything, so I tried to hurry and inject and ran out of the bathroom.

When I got back to the table, I was in tears and told my husband what had happened. He was understandably upset for me and the embarrassment I had suffered. I ate what I could and we went home as quickly as we could to get out of the uncomfortable environment.

Don’t be fooled by appearances. It isn’t easy to be stared at, whispered about, and openly scoffed at by people who don’t understand that you’re only doing what you’re doing to be able to NOT DIE and not because you’re a junkie or looking for a thrill. Even now that I am a pumper, it still isn’t easy. People wonder why the twenty-something skinny girl is wearing a pager and poking her fingers at the table. People don’t understand.

We need a cure.

2 Comments

Filed under Real life

2 responses to “Don’t Be Fooled By Appearances

  1. Zed

    Oh look, the exact same ‘utensils’ I use for eating too… Nice to know that cocktail isn’t so unusual… Why has nobody else heard of Levimir?
    The last time someone said that, I gave them a glare that should have killed them in the universe would permit and said “I’m sorry the regular pain I must endure to survive day to day displeases you. Why don’t we swap? You stab yourself with the needle and live a crappy regeme, and I’ll stand there and make snap judgements of you!”
    Won me a round of applause from the woman at the next table… didn’t make me feel much better though

    Hang in there. You’re not alone… I’ve got the exact same pen on my lap here!

    • Hey Zed! I’m actually a pumper now, I couldn’t get good enough control on MDI. Although it seems like most people are on Lantus!!! Lol. Love your response.. I will have to keep that in mind for next time 😉

Leave a comment