My Diaversary

A diaversary is the anniversary of being diagnosed as diabetic. My two year diaversary is coming up on July 10th. image

It’s hard to believe that it has already been two years since that fateful day I walked into the PM Care clinic with what I believed to be a bladder infection and walked out with a diagnosis of type two diabetes at age 22. My entire world was flipped upside down. image After five months of numbers like the one above happening FAR too often, I was reclassified as type one. I had never been type two at all- the doctor I had seen didn’t know much about diabetes other than the misconception that only children develop type one diabetes, so she assumed that, being 22, I was type two (which is insulin resistant) and never did C Peptide testing. image I began on Levemir immediately after my rediagnosis in December 2012, and Novolog in January 2013. However I loved the idea of an insulin pump, and in December 2013 I became a pumper. image Recently, I began working on tightening up my range. I currently aim to spend most of my time with my blood sugar between 85 and 175. It’s been difficult, but it will be worth it in the long run.

1 Comment

Filed under diaversary

One response to “My Diaversary

  1. Pingback: #DBlogWeek: Shout from the Rooftops | photograbetic

Leave a Reply

