Two Years Ago Today.

Today (July 10th) is the big day. My two year diaversary.

I started out the morning with an awesome supportive message on my facebook from a friend I went to high school with.

Happy Diaversary! May not seem like something to celebrate – but it is a part of you – and you are strong, bold and beautiful! You are definitely worth celebrating! You have faced many obstacles thus far in your life…obstacles not many people of your age could conquer – but you have! Your story is inspiring, and I have found myself amazed by your bravery! Your story is very similar to my Aunt’s, as she is a Diabetic and uses the insulKin pump as well. I can not imagine a day in your shoes, therefore I have so much admiration for what you have conquered! Congratulations Abby, even though it has been a struggle, you have successfully showed Diabetes who is Boss!

What a great start to the day! Then I had AMAZING blood sugars all day. Seriously! I even had several Sour Patch Kids without correcting for them and my sugar has stayed within range for all but about 20 minutes of the day.

It’s amazing how much has changed in the past two years. Two years ago today, I was so sick and I didn’t even know it.

diaversary2diaversarydiaversary1

A few people have expressed concern since my last post about how sad they are for me and my situation. Please, don’t be sad. I live such a wonderful and fulfilling life, and a big contributor to that is my condition. Without it, I wouldn’t be nearly as health-conscious, mature, or appreciative of what I have as I am now. I’ve made a ton of friends through this as well that I never would have met otherwise (Frank, Dorrie, Audra, Valerie, Melissa, just to name a few).

10354460_661335053955570_1810438579_n

I’m happy. I’m healthy (for a sick person, anyway).

And tonight, I celebrate with froyo from the new shop next door. 

image

2 Comments

Filed under diaversary

2 responses to “Two Years Ago Today.

  1. betternotbroken

    Have a healthy diaversary.

  2. U go girl!!!! Its currently not ur diaversary as I type this but in 6 months it will be ur fourth diaversary & I’m hoping that ur even stronger and healthier than u were at ur two year mark. I also am thankful for all the awesome people I have met on account of diabetes. So, out of an incredibly negative moment in our lives comes such positivity!!! HUGS!!!!!

Leave a Reply

