The Never-Ending Story.

I got my pump in December. Because of Obamacare, I’m able to be on my dad’s insurance until I’m 26, which is awesome because my dad’s insurance is SO much better than the insurance offered through my employer. So I was easily able to meet my deductible when I got my pump.

image

Then in January, my insurance changed, and it has been a nightmare ever since. One month I’m covered and don’t have to pay anything for my supplies, the next month I get a massive bill. Apparently they can’t figure out some tier 1/tier 2 business.

image

I thought it was all resolved, but guess who got a call from the medical supply company today? Yep… It’s a neverending story. It’s insanely frustrating because if this doesn’t get solved and they send me the bill and I have to pay it, I won’t be able to. That means bye-bye pump, CGM and my health. And back to the misery of injections.

image

Cross your fingers and pray that the insurance and supply company get this figured out because seriously, it’s JULY. This should be figured out by now.

7 Comments

Filed under Insurance

7 responses to “The Never-Ending Story.

  1. Aww, I’m sorry for your insurance woes! I work for a small business so I’m always scared my insurance is going to change for the worse. Hope everything gets resolved soon!

  2. Insurance is the best when it is good and the worst when they can’t get their act together. Sorry you are having to deal with the stress and will keep fingers crossed that they get it straightened out for you. Most insurance companies do have patient advocates or case managers who you can contact who can sometimes help you navigate the ridiculousness — I would call and ask if there is someone like that who can help. Good luck!

  3. Ugh. I hate insurance. I mean. I like it. Sort of. But mostly I hate it!

  4. Crossing my fingers for you!

  5. Hey and sorry to hear about your insurance and pump woes. If it’s of any interest though, I just stopped pumping (voluntarily) after 13 years if straight pumping. I’m injecting levemir 3 times per day (8 hours apart) and novo for meals and
    I’ve never had better control than I do right now. The pump was great when I got on it, but in the past 3 -4 years, skin-tissue damage had started making it unreliable and my blood sugars were out of control ever 2-3 days. It does take a lot more effort, but I can attest that it is possible to be in good control without a pump. 🙂
    (hopefully they give it to you though so at least you have a choice)

Leave a Reply

