Changes

Some things in my life are changing. I’ve never been very athletic. I played a couple sports and was mediocre at best. It just isn’t me. But this morning, I started running.

image

Every morning I was in California, Frank got up at 4:30am to go running. Every single day. I’ve never been that dedicated to anything in my life. But why not? If he can do that, why can’t I?

So this morning I got up at 5:30, laced up my Nikes, turned up Daft Punk on my iPod and started running. And it was hard, SO hard. I barely slept last night because I was so nervous. Would I be able to go more than a block without stopping? Would my blood sugar crash partway through? Would I absolutely HATE it?

But I did it. I went almost a mile. It was so hard but I felt so good afterwards. I didn’t push myself to run a full mile and end up hurting myself, I stopped when I felt I needed to. I kept moving by walking as fast as I could when I couldn’t run and needed a break. And my blood sugar stayed amazing during that time, and even afterwards.

image

To some, 0.86 miles at a 13 minute/mile pace is horrible, but to me, it’s a beginning. I can only improve from here!!

image

3 Comments

Filed under Running

3 responses to “Changes

  1. I remember doing this for one of the first times back in college, having never run voluntarily before. It’s a great thing to do as a a Type 1. Also what’s cool is that in a few days when you go again, you’ll find it magically easier 🙂

  2. Woo Hoo!! Great accomplishment!!! R u still running or exercising if not running exactly?? Just curious! How has it changed ur style of BG daily management to include ur exercise. I’m struggling with exercise and how to manage it now. TIA!!!!

Leave a Reply

