The Thought Process for One Meal

The scenario:
You’re at a family cookout. You arrived at 11:30am because cooking started at 11. You hadn’t eaten prior to arriving. It is currently 4pm and you still haven’t eaten any more than a handful of chips to keep your sugar in range, so you’re famished. But it’s finally time to eat.
For fun, you don’t have access to ANY nutrition labels so you have to operate based off prior knowledge and educated guessing.

The selection:
Hamburgers
Hot dogs
Brats
Buns for burgers and dogs
Roasted chicken
Small veggie tray
Potato salad
Pasta salad
Grape salad
Potato chips
Devilled eggs
Fudge
And some amazing mystery cake that has frosting and drizzled caramel and pieces of candy bars sprinkled on top

Blood sugar prior to meal: 124

So what’s the plan?

  • Anything with the word “potato” in it is already out. My body doesn’t know what to do with potatoes and I would be high for HOURS afterwards if I even attempted it. Sometimes I will have them, but not often because it’s just easier when I don’t.
  • I also avoid any buns when possible, so hamburgers are out. I like to avoid the breads so I can enjoy the carbs in the desserts!
  • Since I’m not doing the potato salad, I will end up having a very small portion of the pasta salad.
  • Also I need to keep in mind how active I’ve been already today, and how active I will be later. Both those things can affect blood sugar. I am not going to be having a very active day so I don’t have to worry about that too much.

Here is my first plate:

wpid-20140906_154931.jpg

I bolused for 70 carbs on a 60/40 dual wave over 1 hour because I knew plate 2 would have the grape salad and a small piece of mystery cake. Those items would cause a spike that the 60% of the bolus would cover. Then the extra hour would cover anything that was slowed down by the protein in the meat.

I ended up having a small third plate with more carrots, broccoli and grape salad because I felt like it and I felt confident that I hadn’t reached my 70 carbs yet.

Here’s my graph of the three hours afterwards:
wpid-20140906_190600.jpg

And to that I say, NAILED IT!! 

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “The Thought Process for One Meal

  1. I’ve known many diabetics in my life but until you, I never realized how much it changes someone’s life. I’m so sorry you have to deal every day with this horrible disease.

Leave a Reply

