001. The First of Many

Today I ran my first 5K.


I know, I have a post called “A Non-Runner’s Review of the Flip Belt.” But after visiting Frank and his family over the summer and seeing him get up at 4am and run, like, 8 miles every single day, I was inspired to try it. I ran a couple times in the fall, but gave up when it got cold.

Then this spring we started a weight loss challenge at work. I joined because you get $25 at the end of the 90 days if you don’t miss more than 1 weigh-in and I figured I can buy a lot of Taco Bell with $25.

My friend Katie invited me to the gym with her and we started running and working out together. Then we heard about a 5K to be held in our town. We had 6 weeks to prep and we figured, even though neither of us could get through a mile without feeling like death, that we should go for it. Then that 5K got rescheduled, so I found another one a ways away and we decided, let’s do this!



(Training was super intense, obviously)

So over the course of 6 weeks I went from barely able to go a mile in 20 minutes to doing a mile in about 12-13 minutes. And I ran the entire 5K today in less than 40, which was my goal time to beat!


The best part is, my husband was inspired by Katie and I, and he ran with us! Even though he probably could have beaten both of us, he chose to run the race next to me the whole way to 1) make sure I was okay and 2) motivate me to keep going. It was so awesome to run the race and finish beside my best friend.


Plus, his parents and brother, and my dad and his girlfriend all came out to support us! Even though it poured like crazy before the race and was super muggy, they stayed and cheered us on! And my dad and Eileen even made signs for me!

The first half a mile was great! Downhill from the street to a trail. When I entered the second mile, I started to have trouble breathing. It was super humid, and the trail had hills – I had not practiced for hills. Then the path turned into dirt (well, mud) and wound through a heavily wooded area. I was really struggling, but Allen kept me motivated to keep going. I began to focus on “make it to the next tree” to keep myself going. By the time the second mile was over, we were out of the woods and back on the paved trail, but I was starting to get a cramp in my upper abs (along with my calves which cramp every time I run it seems). The hills seemed even worse the second time, but there were a bunch of motivational posters to keep us going. By the time I saw the finish line in the distance, I couldn’t even feel the pain anymore, I just focused on the objective and pushed through to the end.


As for my sugar? I had a beautiful steady overnight at 120. 10 minutes before racetime, I was at 127 and ate half a protein bar uncovered (meaning I didn’t give any insulin for it). At the 1.75 mile mark I was at 181 which is a lot higher than normal. I decided to forego my usual temp basal at that point. At the end of the race, I was at 146. Immediately afterwards I spiked like crazy, which is also not normal but was probably due to nerves and adrenaline. Several hours later, I crashed but I was expecting it.

Overall, it was a great day! I never imagined I’d actually be able to run three miles, ever! But I did it! And I can’t wait to do it again. I have a lot of work to do but I know I can do it if I set my mind to it!

4 Comments

Filed under Running, Support system

4 responses to “001. The First of Many

  1. scratchtype1

    Congratulations! I hope you’ll develop a long, lasting and healthful relationship with running. It’s a bit more of a challenge for us type 1 diabetics, but is really good with helping the circulatory system staying healthy.

  2. Congrats on finishing the 5k! Getting out of our comfort zone now and then helps us realize that we’re capable of handling more than the “normal” day to day. Way to go!

  3. Pingback: oo4. Training? Who needs training? | photograbetic

  4. Pingback: oo6. Holy Rib Cramp! | photograbetic

Leave a Reply

