A Casket, Too Small

The day Kycie passed away, the Diabetic Online Community was also circulating news about another sweet child, David. He had been hospitalized with sudden onset type 1 diabetes and his dad was reaching out to the DOC for prayers. 

  
On one of the posts, I saw it mentioned that David and his family were from Michigan. So I reached out to my friend Dorrie of Saving Luke on Facebook because I knew she had been in contact with David’s dad, Dave. She connected us and I spoke briefly with Dave on Sunday to offer my assistance in any way possible. Later that day, David was removed from life support and passed away. 

  
I knew I had a busy week ahead of me but I wanted to attend the visitation if at all possible. Luckily I was able to bump my doctor’s appointment on Thursday up an hour, so after that Allen and I headed to his visitation an hour and a half away from us. 

David’s family were all so sweet and although the circumstances were horrible, everyone seemed very upbeat and hopeful. There was such a peace on them all, of knowing that David was in Heaven. Dave was so thankful that I made the trip for them, and I told him that they were part of the DOC family. Dave also said they were blown away by the outpouring of love and support from the DOC. 

   
I’m glad I was able to go. It was sad, but humbling. It could have been me. It could have been any of us. It reinforces the fact that we need a cure. Kycie was five, David was four. Little humans, taken too soon. 

3 Comments

Filed under publicity, Real life, Support system

3 responses to “A Casket, Too Small

  1. That was very nice of you. I’m sure it meant so much to David’s family. Sending many prayers to his family, and the #doc in general.

  2. Pingback: #DBlogWeek: Shout from the Rooftops | photograbetic

Leave a Reply

