Almost Beached

Over the weekend, my husband and I went with a friend to a beach in one of out favorite towns on the Lake Michigan coast about two hours from home. We packed lunches and swim clothes and extra towels and sunblock – everything we’d need for a day out.

Except extra pump supplies.

Because why would I need them? I was on fresh pump site with plenty of insulin and my CGM still had a couple days left on it.

 

So after laying in the sun attempting to become a little less translucent, I decided to dip in the lake to cool off. I had been fighting a low since we arrived at the beach, so I unhooked my pump from my body and stuffed it in my bag.

I was only in the water for about ten minutes before I headed back to shore and tried to put my pump back on.

And I couldn’t get the piece to connect back onto my body to save my life.

I waived Allen and Kevin out of the water to help me. People were staring but I didn’t even care as I began to get panicky over the fact that I was two hours away from home without a spare infusion set. I was swiping frantically at the spot on my side where my site was, trying to clear away any sand that might have been preventing the pieces from connecting.

After almost ten minutes, I finally cranked the Quickset as hard as I could, and it roughly clicked into place. What. A. Relief.

Lesson learned – bring backup supplies, even when you have no reason to need them. It was scary to think that I was two hours from home and possibly unable to receive any insulin for that amount of time, especially when it would have completely ruined the day for all of us.


Leave a comment

Filed under Real life

Leave a Reply

