002. Mud Run! 

This weekend I participated in a 5k mud run in my city to benefit the local gym/fitness center. Myself and several coworkers signed up to do it together, and I received permission for my husband to follow us through the course to monitor my blood sugar via my Dexcom.

IMG_5447

We had no idea what we were getting ourselves into.

IMG_5460

My coworkers and I all decided to do the course together so we could encourage and help each other. We made a point of NOT running and taking the course at our pace. And we had SO much fun!

IMG_5476

Allen stayed close the whole time, watching my Dexcom receiver like a hawk. I had disconnected from my pump entirely 15 minutes before the event started when I was at 147. I hung steady through almost the entire thing and ended two hours later at 130 with no insulin and no carbs. I’m so grateful that he walked the entire 3 miles with us – he was such a trooper! And also took a lot of these photos.

  

I was so afraid that I wouldn’t be able to have fun doing this because of my type 1 diabetes but it was barely a speck in the back of my mind the entire time.

However I do want to put it on record that it would have been insanely difficult to do this without my husband with me. I had quadruple taped my dexcom sensor onto my skin but I would have had nowhere to put my receiver, or my test strips, or any juice boxes or smarties. I’m grateful that the event coordinators were accommodating and gave us no trouble.


Overall my 2nd 5k was a success!

3 Comments

Filed under CGM, Running, Support system

3 responses to “002. Mud Run! 

  1. Congrats! That’s really cool- and what a great husband!

  2. Woo Hoo!!! Congrats for getting thru ur 5K successfully!! And what a super guy ur hubby is!!!!! Can’t imagine how mud soaked Smarties would have tasted!!!

Leave a Reply

