A Mazda and a Maserati

The Enlite CGM system was the reason I ended up getting the Medtronic Minimed 530G as my first insulin pump in December 2013. I really liked the idea of only having to wear one device on me at all times. And the Dexcom wasn’t compatible with the pump I really wanted, the Tandem T-Slim. So I ended up trusting my endo and went with the 530G with Enlite.

A few months after receiving my pump, I heard about Nightscout for the first time. It was a Dexcom exclusive movement in the early days. I became a lurker on the CGM in the Cloud Facebook page, waiting anxiously for the day that Nightscout would work with my Enlite. And finally at the end of 2014, I was notified that Nightscout for Enlite had been born and was testing. It took me a few months to get the supplies, but eventually, I was in the Cloud with a rig of my own!

My rig was severely limited. I only had a wifi phone so to be able to use the setup without wifi, I had to use my personal phone as a hotspot, which was a major battery drain and didn’t work very consistently. I also had to be within about 5 feet of the rig for it to pick up the signal from my Enlite. This meant carrying it with me around the office at work, and sleeping with it next to my head on my pillow.

When it worked, it was awesome. I was able to view my blood sugar numbers on my pebble while sitting at my desk at work, and while singing with the choir at church. My A1C dropped pretty dramatically from February to July due more than a little to the increased visibility of my numbers.


However, I wasn’t happy with the Enlite. I am allergic to the tape underneath the sensor, so I had to cut as much off of it as possible before inserting. Plus, the sensors only last for 6 days, and at most I could get 9 or 10 out of them.

On a whim, I emailed my insurance company to see if I would be able to switch to Dexcom, fully expecting them to say no. Imagine my shock when they said YES!


I’ve had my Dexcom G4 for 6 weeks now and although there are a few things I’m not in love with (like the fact that if you clear a high/low alarm and continue to stay high/low it doesn’t re-alert for either 3 or 4 hours, I’m not sure which – this is not good when I clear my alarms in my sleep!) [Edit: I’ve been informed on how to fix this problem! Now someone tell me how to change the screen timeout to be longer than 10 seconds!] but overall I am in LOVE with my Dexcom. The graph is prettier and easier to read, the sensors last FAR longer and are more accurate than my Enlites.


The extra bonus is being able to use the Share function and pull that information into the Simple CGM watchface for Pebble, developed by Nightscout. Once again I am able to view my numbers anywhere, but without the restriction of a wifi-only phone, annoying cords, and dying batteries.


So in my experience, the Enlite and the Dexcom are like a Mazda and a Maserati, respectfully – both are great pieces of technology, and expensive, but at this time, one is clearly superior.

*I was not paid or reimbursed in any way for writing this – it’s just my opinion and yours is allowed to be different! 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under CGM, Insurance, reviews

2 responses to “A Mazda and a Maserati

  1. Enjoy the Dexcom… glad you finally got something that works best for you!

  2. I totally did the same thing!! I went with Medtronic 530G and Enlite but it was so inaccurate it made my husband and I so sleep deprived I stopped using it. When it worked the data was great but it was frequently waking us at night and enacting threshold suspend when I was completely in range!!

    So glad ur loving ur Dexcom!! I just started the 5G mobile system and I couldn’t be happier!! Hope u’ve been able to upgrade to 5G too!!!

Leave a Reply

