It Took Three Years, But It Finally Happened

I came home early from work today because I’m sick (and I didn’t go in at all yesterday). I decided to take a bath, which I hardly ever do, to relax. First, I ran the water too hot and nearly scalded my entire body. After I got out, I realized my pump site in my leg was still hurting since after lunch, and it had a little blood in it, so I decided to swap it out for a new one. As I’m standing in my kitchen, completely naked, sniffling and sneezing, fighting moderate ketones, drawing up a new pump site, I go to throw away my empty insulin bottle. It bounces off the rim of the trash can, falls to the floor, and shatters into a zillion tiny glass pieces all over my kitchen and living room. 



Just another day in the life with type 1 diabetes. 

2 Comments

Filed under insulin

2 responses to “It Took Three Years, But It Finally Happened

  1. Had it happen in college, only bottle onto the bathroom floor, in the days before pumps, 10pm. The only time one has ever broken on me though! Hope you are unscathed!

  2. Bummer!! I just hope u have more in the frig!! & they u were not cut seeing as u just got out of the tub!!! Feel better soon!! Hang in there!!!!! HUGS!!!

Leave a Reply

